Father’s Day- Banana Cupcakes with Nutella Frosting

Standard

My father’s favorite dessert of all time in Entenmann’s Banana Cake.

For some reason Entenmann’s stopped selling it a few years ago, but I still check every time I go to the grocery store, just in case they decided to start making it again!

So for Father’s day I decided to make a banana cake recipe I found from The Ginger Snap Girl blog.  I used her Banana Cake with Nutella Frosting as a base for my cupcakes.

Nutella is a staple snack when traveling in Europe in France and Italy.  If you have not tried it I am demanding that you do.  It is the most amazing chocolate spread you will ever taste.  It is a chocolate hazelnut spread that you can use just like peanut butter.  It’s chocolate that you won’t feel guilty about having in the morning on your toast or for a mid afternoon snack on a banana or with pretzels.  You seriously have got to try this stuff.

Click HERE for the recipe.  Below are the changes I made:

  • Made 18 large cupcakes
  • Cook for ~21 minutes until toothpick comes out clean

My Frosting:

  • 1 stick butter (8 TBSP)
  • 1 cup Nutella
  • 3-4 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons half&half (can also use milk)
The cupcakes were amazing- Dad even treated himself to 2!!! It’s Father’s day- he can do whatever he wants!

Molly Jean

2 responses »

  1. http://shop.mywebgrocer.com/Shop.aspx?&strid=E6395972&sid=70886473&sid_guid=075cccdb-ff0d-4eed-98a7-c7bbe3da0f8a&shopurl=ProductDetail.aspx&pid=70772&clk_src=seopd&ns=1

    http://www.netgrocer.com/pd/Entenmanns/Cake-Banana/18-oz/072030000633/?clksrc=gproduct

    These are two sites that sell it! I grew up eating this delicious cake, and I was very disappointed when Entenmann’s discontinued it; but I luckily found these grocers a few months ago!

Leave a Reply

