Flying Fig

Standard

The Flying Fig is located right in the heart of Ohio City, across the way from Great Lakes Brewery.  Flying Fig is known for the use of local famer’s in the “farm-to-table” movement, which I have discussed in my previous post, The Rise of the Cleveland Restaurant scene.   This is one of the top reasons why it is on my restaurant list, along with rumors of fabulous food and a great overall dining experience.

Here is what I had!

Wine– ’10 Marramiero Da Ma Trebbiano D’Abruzzo (an Italian white wine)

 Mussels for an appetizer

Mussels

Mixed Green Salad

Salad

Dinner Special- Trout

The food was delicious.  I would also like to point out that the service was great!  I wish I could remember our server’s name.  He did a phenomenal job, despite how busy the restaurant was.  I love servers who love their job.  He was very knowledgeable in the specials.  He let us know which dishes were vegetarian dishes and which were not, in case someone at the table did not eat meat.  He also pointed out if their were nuts in a dish, in case of nut allergies.   He checked on us often making sure we were satisfied with our drinks, appetizers, entrees.

The Flying Fig is definitely a Cleveland gem!  You can check out their menu on their website, but It changes daily!  Most items I noticed are the same, though, but just may have a few different ingredients.  The Flying Fig also hosts Sunday Brunch!  I will have to come back not only for dinner, but for brunch, as well!

Molly Jean

Leave a Reply

