Fresh Start Diner and Luxe Kitchen and Lounge

Standard

I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend!  Although the weather here in Cleveland was cloudy and a bit chilly than what it has been, I still had a great weekend!  I tried two new restaurants and would like to share my thoughts with you!  I do have one confession, though… no pictures 😦

The first restaurant I would like to share with you is Fresh Start Diner in Chagrin Falls, Ohio.  My friend Jamie was in town from Dallas for a short weekend home.  She likes to blame me for turning her into a “foodie.”  But, I say it’s a good thing 🙂 especially when we are able to catch-up with one another’s life over a GREAT meal!  I’m sure she agrees!! Jamie already had a busy schedule planned for her weekend home, so we decided to grab breakfast Saturday morning.  We decided on Fresh Start Diner, which both of us had never been.

The first impression was “just another home town diner” (not that it’s a bad thing!).   There are a few other places like this around Solon such as Jim’s Open Kitchen and Chicago Deli.  Jamie and I both ordered Evy’s Veggie Omelet with challah toast.  An interesting feature in the diner is that you are able to watch them make the fresh orange juice up at the counter!  When our meals arrived my first that was that the omelet was perfect size and not that “over-whelmingly-larger-than-my-face” size, as I find a lot of restaurants make their omelets out to be.  It was filled with provolone cheese, red peppers, mushrooms, onions, spinach, and tomatoes.   The challah toast was sliced a little too thin for my liking, but still light and flakey.  If you do not like a lot of butter on your toast, I recommend you ask to butter your own.  They butter the toast, and put a lot on!!  The meal also came with homemade home fries.   Check-out the rest of the menu HERE.  Breakfast is served daily!

——

The second restaurant I would like to share with you is Luxe Kitchen and Lounge.  I bought a Groupon for the restaurant back in January and had until July to use it.  Although I have heard their is an amazing patio, I wanted to try it sooner than later!  Jordan and I arrived a little after 7 and lucky enough to be able to take the last table for 2 before the wait for tables began.  We were seated up in the bar area.  The atmosphere is funky and hip.  There are large chandeliers hanging from the high warehouse type ceiling.  There is what looks to be faux cow fur on the bar of the high bar chairs.  There is brick exposed walls giving off an over-all “very cool” scene.

The waiter came over with bread and olive oil/balsamic to start.  The balsamic was perfectly sweet and the oil had a nice fruity aroma.  To start off Jordan and I ordered the mussels in a wine wine/garlic sauce with crushed tomatoes and crusty bread.  We were both extremely pleased with our choice and both decided it was probably the best mussel appetizer we had ever ate!  The wine wine sauce complimented the mussels perfectly and was a great dipping sauce for the crusty bread!  The tomatoes were sweet and juicy, and could have just been eaten on their own!

For an entree we both ordered something off of the chefs specials of the night.  Jordan ordered a filet that came with asparagus and garlic mashed potatoes.  I ordered the Salmon with a pineapple, guacamole, and cilantro salsa, with a side of quinoa risotto.  The salmon was by far one of the best salmons I have had in a long while.  It was cooked perfectly with a slight pink in the middle.  The avocado pineapple salsa added a nice fresh taste.  The quinoa was not as creamy as what your typical risotto would be, but it added a nice texture and nutty flavor to the dish.  After the great experience, we both agreed we will definitely be coming back when the weather is warmer so we can hopefully try out the patio!

—-

Sunday we stayed in and cooked brunch 🙂  Veggie omelets and bacon. YUM!

Molly Jean

Leave a Reply

