Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread

Standard

Whenever I was studying for an Oragnic Chemistry exam, the night before I would sit in Baker (student center at Ohio University) with a big old cinnamon roll from the food court.  For some reason it would help ease the pain in my brain from studying material that I truly will never understand.

Cinnamon flavor in any type of dessert or sweet bread is my weakness.  That’s why I was so thrilled when I came across a recipe for Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread, from Lovin In The Oven, who adapted the recipe from Sandwich Hoss.  The bananas were getting pretty bad and I hate seeing them go to waste.  So it was perfect timing that I found this recipe! You can click here to follow Lovin In the Oven’s recipe page, or continue to follow it on mine!

Cinnamon Swirl Banana Bread

Ingredients

Ingredients

For the bread

  • 3 over-ripe bananas, smashed
  • 1/3 cup butter melted (I just put mine in the microwave for about 45 seconds)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1tsp baking soade
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

For the swirl

  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 TBSP cinnamon

Directions

1. Preheat over to 350.

2. Butter and flour (or just use Pam) a 9×5 loaf pan (or which-ever size you have- you may have to adjust cooking time.)

3. Mix Bananas, butter, sugar, egg, and vanilla together in a large bowl.

4. Sprinkle baking soda and salt around on top of banana mixture and mix in.

5. Mix in flour slowly (I mixed 1/2 cup at a time).

6. In a small dish mix 1/3 cup sugar and 1 TBSP cinnamon- this is your cinnamon swirl!

7. Add half of the batter to your loaf pan and sprinkle a little more than half of the swirl mixture on top.

8. Pour in other half of batter.  Spread batter to the edges of the pan with a spatula and sprinkle top with remaining swirl mixture.

9. Bake in oven for 50-60 minutes. (Mine took 50 with a 9×5 loaf pan- if using a different size, keep and eye on it!)

Before

After

YUM!

Cinnamon Swirl Magic!

The bread was so good (especially straight out of the oven!).  I will definitely be making this banana bread recipe more often (especially when there are no walnuts in the house- which is what I usually add).

Time to go check on the corned beef I have in the oven for tomorrow’s St. Patty’s Day festivities! Have a great weekend everyone and a Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Molly Jean

About Molly Jean's Tasty Cuisine

I am a Registered Dietitian and foodie fanatic from Cleveland, Ohio! I am an Ohio University Alum. I recently graduated from Kent State University with a Master's in Nutrition and a the completion of a Dietetic Internship! I love trying out new recipes, new food products, and dining at Cleveland's local restaurants!

Leave a Reply

