Margherita Pizza

Standard

Coming home after a long stressful day often leads to ordering a pizza for yourself, or the family.  But, sometimes the delivery can take about an hour or more, which isn’t so much fun when you are starving!! Making your own pizza actually takes about 30 minutes to make, requires little prep work, and it is also a great way to get the entire family involved!

If you enjoy making your own pizza dough, great!  I usually just buy the fresh pizza dough I find at Heinen’s.  Heinen’s sells plain or wheat. I usually buy wheat, not only because I am a nutrition freak, but also because I love the nutty flavor that it adds to the crust.  For pizza sauce I either use store bought pizza sauce, or homemade or jarred marinara sauce that is leftover from spaghetti night!

As for toppings, you can use whatever you find in your fridge! Get creative!! Chop up whatever vegetables you find, add left over chicken from the night before.  Top with cheese! And it does not have to be mozzarella.  If you have slices of swiss or provolone you bought for sandwiches, go ahead and cut or tear it up and use it as a topping!

My favorite pizza to make is Margherita pizza.  Tomatoes, basil, and mozzarella cheese are a simple, yet perfect combination for the perfect pizza.  Here is how I make it!

Margherita Pizza

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.  Make sure you have a rack on the lowest shelve in the oven.  That is where your pizza will cook.

First I roll out my wheat store bought dough, that I described above, with a rolling pin.  Be sure to put some flour on the surface you are rolling the dough out on, as well as the rolling pin.  It may be tough to stretch the dough at first, so I also use my hands to help stretch. Next I place the dough on a lightly greased cookie sheet.  My pizza is rectangle to fit on the sheet, but if you have a pizza pan be sure to form it into a circle!

Next I spread a thin layer of sauce onto the dough.  I leave about 1/2 inch around the edges so that the pan does not get covered while the pizza is cooking.

Sauce

Next I prepared my ingredients by slicing some tomatoes (I used vine ripe, but you can use roma, or whichever you prefer), fresh mozzarella cheese, and fresh basil.

I like to “Julienne” the basil.  For those who don’t know how, it is so easy!  All you do it neatly stack your basil leaves, roll them up, and then make thin slices with your knife!!

Neatly pile up the basil leaves

Roll

thin slice, or "Julienne!"

Next is time for the toppings! After the sauce I place the tomatoes slices, and then the cheese, and then only some of the basil.  I like topping the pizza with fresh basil after it is finished cooking!

Before

Place the pizza on the bottom rack of the preheated oven and bake for 20 minutes.  When you take the pizza out, don’t forget to top with the rest of the basil!

Finished pizza!

I usually wait a couple of minutes before a slice up the pizza.  It is VERY HOT when it comes straight out of the oven.

I usually have a side salad with homemade dressing, which I will share with you all soon in another post! Enjoy your pizza!

YUM!

Molly Jean

About Molly Jean's Tasty Cuisine

I am a Registered Dietitian and foodie fanatic from Cleveland, Ohio! I am an Ohio University Alum. I recently graduated from Kent State University with a Master's in Nutrition and a the completion of a Dietetic Internship! I love trying out new recipes, new food products, and dining at Cleveland's local restaurants!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Pizza on the Grill- Margherita « Molly Jean's Tasty Cuisine

Leave a Reply

