Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Standard

Brussels Sprouts

As a child and up to about a year, I absolutely HATED brussels sprouts.  On Thanksgiving 2010, my Aunt had made brussels sprouts as one of our sides.  She used chef Michael Symon’s recipe that uses bacon and dried cranberries.  I love all of Michael Symon’s dishes, so of course I tried, knowing that I have hated brussels sprouts in the past.  I loved them!! But lets be honest– anything with bacon is tasty, right? haha

So it wasn’t until this past Christmas that I had brussels sprouts again.  I was celebrating with my boyfriends side of the family.  Someone had made roasted brussels sprouts.  I put them on my plate just to be nice and try everything that was made.  These roasted brussels sprouts were amazing!  I definitely had a second helping!

Now it was time to try them on my own!  Not that roasted vegetables is dificult, but I searched for a recipe just to make sure I was making brussels sprouts the best way possible and that’s when I stumbled upon a recipe from The Cooking Photographer’s blog (click here for original recipe).

Oven Roasted Garlic Brussels Sprouts

Ingredients:

  • 2 lb brussels sprouts- trimmed and halved (or quartered if large)
  • 5 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 TBSP extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper

Directions: 

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.  In a 9×13 baking dish, toss brussels sprouts with garlic, water, oil, salt, and pepper.  Roast for 45 to 50 minutes, tossing once 25 minutes into cooking time.  Brussels sprouts should be carmelized.  Remove from oven and toss around in pan to gather brown bits into the sprouts. Serve and enjoy!

I made a smaller portion of the recipe.  Before I started I wanted to make sure I was trimming the brussels sprouts correctly.  I found this video to help me out! CLick the link http://www.finecooking.com/videos/how-to-trim-brussels-sprouts.aspx

Here are my photo’s. Again, I made a smaller version of the recipe above!

Brussels Sprouts!

Trim

Before

After

I hope you enjoy this wonderful recipe and learn to love this wonderful vegetable as much as I finally do now!

Molly Jean

About Molly Jean's Tasty Cuisine

I am a Registered Dietitian and foodie fanatic from Cleveland, Ohio! I am an Ohio University Alum. I recently graduated from Kent State University with a Master's in Nutrition and a the completion of a Dietetic Internship! I love trying out new recipes, new food products, and dining at Cleveland's local restaurants!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

