Fresh Peach Pie (Betty Crocker)

Standard

 

Last year at my grandfather’s birthday he said to me “I know you’re supposed to have birthday cake on your birthday, but all I want is a slice of pie.”  So this year I made it happen!  With Ohio peach season nearing the end, it was the perfect time to make a pie!

—–

My mother has always told me that her Betty Crocker’s Cookbook has the best pie recipes.  I use it to make my homemade apple and pumpkin pie for “friends-giving” hosted by my good friends Rob and Ashley’s.  So I had no choice but to use Betty Crocker’s Cookbook to make my Grandpa’s “Birthday Pie!”

Ingredients:

  • Pastry for 8-inch two-crust pie (homemade or use store bought!)
  • 4 cups peaches, sliced and peels removed (about 7-8 medium)
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 3 Tablespoon flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 Tablespoon margarine or butter

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. Mix peaches and lemon juice.
  3. Line pie plate with pastry.
  4. Mix sugar, flour and cinnamon and then stir into peaches.
  5. Pour into pastry covered pie plate.
  6. Dot peaches with butter (or margarine).
  7. Cover with second pastry crust that has slits cut into it.
  8. Seal crust and flute.
  9. Cover edge with 2 to 3 inch strip of aluminum foil to precent excessive browning.
  10. Remove foil during last 15 minute of cooking.
  11. Bake until crust is brown and juices begin to bubble through slits in the crust, 35-45 minutes.
  12. Serve with ice cream if desired.

 

 

I made 2 pies- one for everyone to taste and one for my grandpa to take home!

 

 

 

 

Molly Jean

Leave a comment